Neewbie Observations

I recently started using Scrivener to help me put together a book I am writing about a software project I am working on. I’m a developer and so I use an Integrated Development Environments (IDE) all the time. What struck me right away was how similar the two enviromenets actually are. In both you have content that compiles into an end product. In my favourite IDE, Visual Studio you have the Solution Explorer (like the binder) which has seperate sections for header files, source files, etc but you can be more specific and add sub folders to those to group your files more clearly.

I see comments that there is a steap learning curve to learn Scrivener and i can understand that, but if you are a developer then all this seems quite familiar. I suspect the same is true of anyone who has used FrameMaker or similar to put together technical documents. I used to use Madcap Flare to do this and it was a nightmare. Scrivener is much much better. I’m already a fan!

6 Likes

I agree with you about the similarly to an IDE. What’s interesting about that is Keith Blount, the guy who originally designed and built Scrivener for the Mac, was not a developer - he taught himself how to code while building Scrivener.

I was an OG developer back in the 80s-90s, so never worked professionally in the modern IDE’s you’re used to. But still, upon first launching Scrivener way back when I more or less immediately felt right at home. For me it’s always seemed a very sensible interface, and separating the writing aspect from the producing aspect via compile always seems a very sensible approach.

Best,
Jim

2 Likes

This must be why I used and understood Scrivener in one evening after finishing the Interactive Tutorial from the Help menu.
And I never grasped why people would not use Compile and cut and pasted text out of the Editor into Word and WordPress.