New(ish) Linux user, having problems installing on Fedora 20

Hello all! I’m not sure if this is something to make a new post for, and if not please bear with me (or let me know)!
I’ve been a lover of Scrivener for a couple years now on my Windows 7 (now Windows 8.1) laptop, but I just recently installed Fedora 20 on my desktop and have been far more enjoying writing here. It’s an exciting feeling!

Anyway, I tried to install the Scrivener beta on my Fedora 20 machine just now, the 64bit version (I thought my machine was 32bit but after checking up on that, it appears I was wrong) and used the tarball download. I extracted this with Files into /home/myusername/LiteratureAndLatte, putting the Scrivener file in /home/myusername/LiteratureAndLatte/bin/Scrivener. I had a little trouble figuring out where to go next, as the “unofficial guide” seemed more geared toward Ubuntu (again, please be patient, I’m still learning between the different distros!), but I managed to find this from the download thread here:

And I followed these instructions pretty closely. They worked fine the first time when I ran through with the 32bit version (I thought it was correct, apparently was wrong), and when I ran through again from scratch with the 64bit version, the install libpng12.so.0 failed. The last line did not do anything for me either time.

I then returned to this thread, and followed it starting at the Scrivener/Linux icon image, and before the graphical root option. This all seemed to work just fine, and it created the shortcut with the image that when I clicked on it to run the program, told me it was “untrusted.” I clicked the “trust this application” option, and the window went away. I attempted to run the program here, and from the ~/LiteratureAndLatte/bin/Scrivener location, but neither one seemed to do anything at all… no errors, no nothing.