New to Scrivener - hello!

Hi all,
I’m relatively new to Scrivener but absolutely love it (Windows user, haven’t made the leap to Mac yet). I have been looking through the boards recently and thought it was high time to say hello.

So…hello.

It looks like a great place to talk to fellow writers.

One question I had - how much do each of you write per day. I have been writing on and off for a number of years but now want to really try may hand at fiction, so have set myself a task of 1000 per day which I have kept to for the past week, quite easily actually. I started a thriller story novel last week and have no idea where I’m going with it! I usually like to plot but set myself a challenge to just write the story as it comes and see where it takes me, if only to push myself to get a first draft done, as finishing projects tends to be my issue. Short stories are okay, but longer projects like a novel and I tend to lose interest and search for something new, purely because I don’t push myself through the slump. So will see where this little experiment takes me. Over the last 10 days I’ve hit 12459 words so at the least this challenge is getting me writing again.

So, what sort of challenges do other people set themselves, and have any yielded exciting results?

Hiya Raz :wink:

:confused: :frowning: Some real weirdos aboard Scriv, Raz… real weirdos! Be careful!

[size=150][1] :unamused: PANDORA’S BOX Raz… PANDORA’s BOX :open_mouth:
Welcome aboard Scriv, Raz (too late to-do anything about it now!)
Ahh well… c’est la vie… eh?

Vic

1. /size ↩︎

Welcome!

I can’t speak for others, but I try not to judge my output in terms of words. Sometimes my time will be spent plotting, or brainstorming new ideas. Every now and again I’ll just spend an hour telling myself the story in my head (kind of like watching it as a mental movie) to test if it’s working or see if anything happens that surprises me this time. I guess in some ways that’s my equivalent of doing a first draft.