New to Scrivener

I’ve just downloaded the trial demo of Scrivener to give it a go, having seen a great deal of positive feedback around the web. I wrote a non fiction book about 3 years ago using Pages that took the best part of 9 months to complete and I’m hoping that Scrivener will speed up that process with another book I have recently started.

Looking at the tutorial inside Scrivener I am struck by the range of features it includes but momentarily feeling a little fazed by all the options, since I’ve never used anything like this before. I’m just wondering how long it takes to get used to all the features in Scrivener and whether others feel it helps them to write faster or better in any way. Do others spend much time on the tutorials or do you just crash in to learn by trial & error? Any tips on learning quickly with Scrivener would be appreciated.

Well, for some folks it takes a long time. Other just get it. I’m kind of in the middle.

Here’s my interpretation of what most folks suggest:

1. Start with the trial and do the tutorial. That costs nothing and will give you an idea of one way that scrivener works as well as the features.
  2. You should still have some time left on your trial, so try importing a WIP or starting a “test” project. Spend time time thinking how you could use what you learned in the tutorial to make your project easier to manage.
  3. Sit down with a piece of paper and document how you work now. By work I mean think and do, not just do. Once you have a pretty good felling for you methods, ask yourself “with what I discovered in 1 and 2, how can scrivener make this easier?”
  4. If you have time left on your trial give it a shot. If not you should have enough info to know if it is worth the effort and money for your style and needs.

As I said that is my interpretation. Actually it is what I did, except I put #4 at the top of the list.