Novel-in-a-Day 1* - SPECIAL TENTH ANNIVERSARY EDITION

DON’T CLOSE YOUR EYES

This August will be ten years since the idea of Novel-in-a-Day was first mooted on this forum. 25 brave and adventurous souls signed up and, a few short weeks later our very first collaborative novel, “The Dark”, was born! To celebrate, we’re running a very special edition of Novel in a Day on SATURDAY AUGUST 14th 2021 where we will be creating a TENTH ANNIVERSARY EDITION of The Dark.

I’m actually new to NiaD – how does it work!

Novel-in-a-Day is an annual event where a group of writers from across the planet get together and write a novel. A whole novel. In a single day.

If you’re new to NiaD please check out the FAQs for more details and background, but essentially:

1. At midnight (UK time) on the day of the event you’ll be emailed a brief of what you need to include in your chapter.
  2. You go away and write your section. (Normally this would be without any knowledge of the wider story or where your chapter fits in the book, but this time we’re doing somehting different!).
  3. You return your chapter by 8pm (UK time) at which point it’s turned into ePub, mobi and PDF books using the magic of Scrivener, ready for publication at or around midnight.

How does this event differ from normal NiaDs?

1. Not only will you and other participants know the genre in advance this time, but since this is a tenth anniversary re-issue of a previous event, you’ll also have access to the whole basic story outline!
  2. Given that this is a short notice special edition, our normal sign-up restrictions are relaxed – anyone with a forum account and an email address can take register to take part (see below).
  3. That’s about it! Note - this is a “special edition” outside the normal sequence (it’s event 1* and not 11, and defintely not 12 ) and doesn’t replace the usual main event that takes place in October.

Will it really be the same story as the first NiaD?