One project, multiple Devices (Windows desktop, Windows Laptop, and iPad Pro)

Hello everyone,

[tl;dr - I’m wondering if a source control solution like Git would be the answer, or is there a far less complex solution?]

I’ve used Scrivener for a while, but I’ve never quite got the hang of the logistics of working a single project on multiple devices.

My ideal use case is this:

• Work throughout the day on my Windows desktop.
  • At night, when my wife and I usually move to a different room, open my Windows laptop and pick up where I left off.
  • Occasionally, it would be nice to edit/write on my iPad, but that’s not strictly necessary. Getting the desktop/laptop combo working is the ideal solution.

This would really solve some time issues that I have. Do I need to consider using external hard drives, or is there a better way?

I’m willing to try cloud services, but I’ve had some really bad experiences with them. One time, while syncing multiple devices via Google Drive, I accidentally overwrote a copy of a manuscript on one of my laptops with a blank version of the same project. Before I could do much of anything, Google Drive had gleefully synced the blank version to the rest of my devices. The only thing that saved me was that I had a laptop that was powered down, so I pulled the NIC and fired it up. I was able to retrieve my working copy that way. I’ve been using Carbonite for backups ever since, but that’s not really a syncing solution in the sense of cloud services.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

The official answer to the question is that iOS Scrivener uses Dropbox for synchronization with Mac/PC Scrivener.

For PC-only synchronization, most of the cloud services work similarly and will give acceptable results, subject to some caveats and best practices discussed here:
https://scrivener.tenderapp.com/help/kb/cloud-syncing/using-scrivener-with-cloud-sync-services