PC Dropbox iOS sharing

Hi,
I have the 30 day trial occurring on my desktop PC with the hopes of using my iPad while on the road. I bought the app for the iPad because I didn’t see any trial period. I’ve been working with both for a few days now and want to connect them and try sharing a project. My learning curve for all this is pretty low right now but if I can get it to work I plan to buy the PC version for most of my creative time but take the iPad on the road to be more productive in airports and hotels.

I have installed dropbox on both and have a new account. I have never used dropbox before. I first tried iTunes to share files but that didn’t get me anywhere.

I can’t seem to get them all to sync up with dropbox either. Things got messy so I uninstalled both the dropbox and Scrivener apps from the iPad to get a fresh start on that end. Still flummoxed on how to get the PC to put it’s Scrivener files onto the iPad through dropbox so I can go play while on the road. I hit the sync button and nothing shows up.

Am I completely out to lunch with this thought process? Do they not play nice with each other? Perhaps I should just get a new laptop and lug it around?

Thanks for any help…
Gary

Have you gone through the tutorial on the iPad? It tells you how to do it.

You need to have a Dropbox folder on your PC, into which you save the projects you want to sync. You also have to wait until the PC tells you that it has actually had time enough to copy everything from that folder to the Dropbox server. When setting up the sync on your iPad, choose ‘other folder’ and navigate to the folder on the Dropbox server where you have your projects and then give the iPad time enough to copy from the server to the iPad.

Hi Lunk. Thanks for the quick reply!

Yes, I went through both tutorials over the past couple days of learning, and I did notice the stressing of ‘be patient’ when sharing. I think my issue is with understanding dropbox but I’ll make that my project today.