Possible to save projects to a external hard-drive?

Hello, I’m new to Scrivener and installed it on my computer. I would like to store all project related files to an exterior hard drive and keep from filling up my computer’s storage. Would I need to install Scrivener on the exterior drive?
Thanks for your help and information.

Hi CSB. Welcome to the forum!

Saving Scrivener projects to an external drive will not be a problem. There is no need to install Scrivener to the hard drive. As long as the drive appears as a regular lettered-drive on your computer, Scrivener should be able to find it – provided it is connected.

When the drive is not connected, projects saved on it will not appear in the Recents list when Scrivener first starts (and possibly not in the Favorites list, too; not sure) because Scrivener only shows projects it has access to. Once you connect the drive, those projects should again appear in the list.

Enjoy!

Hey, thanks so much for your input. I will set up a Scrivener projects folder on my Passport and give it a go. If I understand correctly, I can install the software itself on the Passport? Or just route the projects to it.
Thx again!

All you need to do is point Scrivener to the folder on your Passport where the project is saved. There is no need to install Scrivener on the Passport, nor much reason to, since there is no portable install option for Scrivener.

Got it, I just set it up, works perfectly. Once again, thanks so much!

As Mad_Girl_Disease said, the scrivener install is to be on your computer. (C: / program files / …)

One advice :
Since you already have your projects on your external drive, it would be a good idea to have the backup feature of Scrivener place those backups on your computer directly, so you have a real backup (elsewhere than where your projects are) in case something unfortunate happens to your external drive.