Print shows just Titles and no content

I have a large project I’ve been creating for a couple of years. I just discovered when I try to Print a Draft document, only the document title prints, i.e., there’s no content.

I thought I’d found a way to clear up this Print problem:

1. Create a new, empty project.
  2. Select everything in the original Drafts section.
  3. Drag (copy) all draft items to the new project.
  4. Do the same to copy all Research items.

Unfortunately, the new project is missing all links between Draft and Reference items. And there are way too many links to consider recreating them.

Is there some way to “clean up” my original project to restore proper printing?

It sounds like you just need to tweak the settings in your original project. There shouldn’t be any need to abandon it. In the Compile sheet ([b]Opt-Cmd-E[/b]) make sure you have checkboxes in the row that is labelled “Text”. See the below screenshot for an example, with two relevant rows highlighted:

[size=9]Compile all titles and text.[/size]

This will print titles and text for all document types in the Binder. If you don’t want them all to print titles and text, you can change these checkboxes accordingly.

Thanks, Amber V for your speedy and helpful response.

When I went to Compile Draft, my settings were already as you suggested. From this sheet, I can indeed get the whole text to print.

I was using File > Print Current Document… (Command-P). I don’t understand why this works in new files but not in my old one. Hmmm.

This is not a big deal, since I can now get the printing I need from Compile Draft.

Yes the Compile print method is generally preferred as it will produce something much closer to the final manuscript appearance, but you shouldn’t be having problems with the basic print method itself, and it can certainly come in handy for quick proofs.