Problem with Scrivener on Task Bar

I’ve been using Scrivener for a few months now, no real problems. Today, it has developed a bad relationship with the task bar. If I click on the icon on the task bar, it places another icon on the taskbar for the instance/document. However, it does not open the app on the screen, and it can’t be opened from the other taskbar icon, either.

This may relate to installing another piece of software, but I can’t find a way to contact the publisher, and I’m hoping someone has some helpful insight here. I’m in the middle of writing something!

Honzo

Have you tried unpinning it from the taskbar then back?
And what about the desktop icon?

Yes, I’ve unpinned, and I’ve tried to use the desktop icon. Also launching from the app launcher, same result. Do you think reinstalling Scrivener would help? Would I lose track of my files?

I’ll assume you’ve also rebooted your computer. (If you haven’t, I think you should.)

Try Ctrl-Alt-Delete and run the task manager.
In the top section, if you see that an app that shouldn’t is currently running, force it to shutdown.
Then try running Scrivener again.

You should also check and see if the problem occurs with other apps as well. If it does, likely a reinstall won’t help much ; so save that for last.
I would see if uninstalling the other app you talked about, then rebooting, fixes your issue.
Then it’d be up to you to decide if that other app is worth the trouble, and be reinstalled or not.

[EDIT] I must have had my head in the clouds, as I typed that following part of my post while completely not taking into account that the issue is that Scrivener won’t run.
So for the time being, ignore that part – from this point on – about a reinstall.

Last, in case you come to reinstall Scrivener :
Lose track of your files ? Not really. The recent project list would reset though.