Problems with Snapshots

I’m having problems with snapshots and it’s probably due to the fact that I am new to the feature and don’t understand what it is doing or how to do it properly but nothing I’m seeing corresponds to what I am reading in the manual. I created my first snap shot - I’m Windows 11 btw, with Scrivener 3.1.5.1 - and saw it in the Inspector panel. But now no such snapshot exists. I had to open snapshot manager but what I found there was only a chapter, not the 57 chapters I thought I saved. Do you have to have highlighted the manuscript in the binder to snapshot the whole document? Also when I went looking using File explorer I found a scrivener backup file with the same date but that too only showed the first 14 chapter not the 57 that I had completed at that time.
So, to review. how do I easily create a snapshot of the whole manuscript, then with it labelled with the date, find it again and what is a scrivener backup file if it isn’t the whole manuscript. The undo button doesn’t work very well and when I accidently delete something I need to be confident that work isn’t lost and can be found somewhere? Thanks

Snapshots and backups are not the same thing.

You can create a backup of the entire project at any time with the File → Backup → Backup To command. This is the best choice if, say, you want to preserve the first draft of a manuscript while you proceed with the second draft.

To snapshot a document, yes that document needs to be selected in the Binder. Snapshots are the best choice for preserving versions of individual documents. Because of the way the Snapshot manager works, though, it’s a bit clunky for entire manuscripts.

1 Like

See also:

1 Like

In response to this post I thought I’d check some of my snapshots to see if mine were okay. Disaster! They’re all garbled nonsense! Each and every one is full of completely useless talentless drivel!

Oh, hang on… yeah, no snapshots are working fine.

6 Likes