Promoting Deadlines with Writing Groups

Hello, as you can guess from my username, my name is Daniel and I am, as you are, an aspiring writer. I have what I hope is an interesting proposition and if you lend me some of your time, I’ll explain it here. My idea is to form an online writing group, whose purpose is to “enforce” strict deadlines on the writers and to share and critique each others’ work at the end of this deadline. I have read and experienced the positive effects of deadlines, both in school and in the everyday environment (I am a recent college graduate in the field of Environmental Engineering). I love writing but as it is a loving hobby it (most unfortunately) has no structure or rules (remember I am an engineer by hopeful profession). I have loved reading these forums and I believe that the people who post here, at least some, may share my opinion of deadlines as positive reinforcement for writing. If what I am asking seems ludicrous to you, that is perfectly fine, you needn’t keep reading. But for anyone interested in supporting this notion, please feel free to drop me an email (dsp4586@gmail.com) or reply to this post. I am looking to build a group and from there we can set reasonable deadlines and then, as a group, we can motivate each other to keep going and get the job done. As I have rambled on for long enough I will end this post but I hope that it has found its way to the people who might be interested in the idea of forming a writing group with the goal of meeting set deadlines and hopefully having some fun along the way (sounds like I’m promoting a cheesy summer camp but bear with me please).