Researching for Possible Project

Hello!

So, as you’ll see if you look at my previous post and profile, I LOVE Scrivener. I have it on Mac, Win, and iOS, and I’ve run the Win version on WINE some in Linux.

I’m a full-stack web developer (HTML/CSS/Javascript/PHP/MySQL) looking at possibly diving into desktop app development, and am leaning heavily into deciding to become a Java Developer.

I’m a very practical-based learner. I have a task I want to accomplish and I learn what I need to learn to accomplish that task. It helps with motivation for me.

To that end, if there was one thing I would like to learn to code, it would be a way to natively run a novel-writing program on Linux the way I enjoy this one in others OS environments.

I know at one point L&L had a Linux version in mind, but it was abandoned long ago. What I’ve never seen is a detailed response as to WHY. I can think of so many possible reasons, but only one of which would deter me from this project (I know it’s a MASSIVE undertaking, but hey, that’s the kind of stuff I enjoy doing, like teaching myself how to become a full-stack web dev or making my own Fantasy universe).

Possible reasons I can think of L&L abandoning the official Scrivener for Linux program, from highest likelihood to smallest (by my own blind guessing):

1. Not financially worth the hassle. Linux obviously has a tiny percentage of people who use it as their main OS platform even when you combine all its distros. The amount of people who do that are long-form writers would be even a fraction of that already tiny fraction. Add onto that that much of the user base is a rabid GNU-loving free-computing-for-all fan base (which is great, just not profitable), L&L just decided that this would just be a resource bleed and abandoned the project.