Saving project in multiple locations failure

Hello,
I am just getting started using Scrivener for Windows 11, with the latest update 3.1.4.0. I have gone through the tutorial.

I am sure I am missing something, so maybe someone can point out my error.

I am paranoid and want to save my work in 3 different places. I chose all 3 places and saved my work successfully. I looked for a method of auto saving work to all 3 places at once, but did not find any such animal (a useful tool I would think for a writer).

When I tried to save my work the next day, the regular save function successfully saved the work. The I went to save as… to save to the other 2 places and I got this error notice:

Could Not Save Project Scrivener does not allow saving to a project’s .scriv Folder.
And when I tried to return to my original save location, I got the same message.

This has me confused. Do I have to delete the previous days work in order to save it to a different location? Does the program not allow a project to be overwritten? Obviously I am missing something.

Thanks in advance for any help with this issue.

Hi Rangerwood. :slight_smile: Welcome to the forum.

I’ll be blunt: you are seriously looking for trouble…

Save as is anything but intended to be used like that.
You are creating duplicates of your project. It is only a matter of time that you’ll accidently overwrite your work.
I advise that you refrain from doing so immediately.

The function you are looking for is automatic backups.
It does only one backup in one location, but you can then (as I do) backup your backup in as many places as you wish.

Refer to the manual, section B.9 . (Page 699)

2 Likes

Thank You. I will start using the backup function. This does make sense.

1 Like

:+1:

Don’t hesitate if you have any questions.
:slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks again. I am setting up the backup function now.

1 Like

Here is a post explaining how I go about making sure my projects are safe: