Screenplay mode and Avid ScriptSync

Hi there.

My day job is film editor, but I also do some writing as a hobby. I love Scrivener. I’ve been using Script mode for awhile and I really like it.

There is a great new feature in Avid Media Composer called ScriptSync. It allows film editors to import script pages into Avid, and it uses voice recognition to connect the written lines of dialogue with the exact piece of footage (or voiceover recording) that contains each line. It’s pretty amazing.

If you are interested, there is more information about ScriptSync here:

filmmakermagazine.com/fall20 … screen.php

Here is my problem: ScriptSync expects the script in plain text format, with indentations. (It uses the indentations to separate the dialogue from the scene headings, action, etc.)

When I export from Scrivener, I lose the indentations.

Is there any way to fix this, or any workarounds you can think of? Thanks.

–Ed Fuller

Hi Ed, I’m not expert with this - I’ve never used ScriptSync myself - but I’ve read a little about it and I edited a couple of things for TV in my previous life. I’m now a writer-producer and I work with Scrivener every day and Final Draft a good deal. So I might be talking rubbish or I might not. Disclaimer over.

As I understood it the Avid ScriptSync format requires scene numbers or at least page numbers to work properly. If this is the case then your best bet is to export to Final Draft (add scene numbers if necessary) then ‘save as’ from there. Even if Avid would accept these numbers (from Scrivener) as an added new paragraph, you’d still have to enter them manually which I suspect would be fairly onerous.

If I’m completely wrong about the scene / page numbers thing, then we’re back to your original question, and then yes - you should be able to set up Scrivener’s Compile Draft settings to precisely match the same indentations that you would see in a .txt exported from Final Draft.