Scriv 3 Compile forces "smart" quotes, em dashes, ellipses character

Hi y’all. I’m a Scriv1/Win veteran who’s stumped by the Scriv3/Win compiler: when compiling MMD- to Web Page, it’s replacing all my “dumb” quotes with curlies, all my two dashes together with the fancy em dash character, and all my three dots together with the fancy ellipses character (and of course representing these with the proper HTML ascii code). I can’t seem to find anywhere in my compile options, including My Format → Edit Format, to turn these replacements off.

In Scriv1/Win, of course, there was “straighten smart quotes,” “convert em-dashes to double hyphens,” and “convert ellipses to triple period” under Transformations. But I can’t find anything like that in Scriv3/Win’s compile options or compile format edit options.

So I’ve been doing a lot of find-replace in a text editor with the compiled document. But has anyone got a more elegant solution?

This isn’t something Scrivener is doing, that is how the MultiMarkdown engine (and Pandoc as well, if that is what you are using) handles ASCII punctuation by default. These tools have flags that can turn that behaviour off if you want, and Scrivener v3 now gives you direct control over the command line (to the extent that you could even use another conversion engine entirely if you wanted).

Firstly, I would suggest installing MultiMarkdown on your system. After you restart Scrivener it will pick up on the installation and use it instead, but that is more of a side benefit. It will make what you need to do next easier. The procedure is described in this thread. There we explored how to set up a custom MMD command line to switch off the automatic IDs it adds to headings, but the same basic approach would be used to customise the command line so that it doesn’t use smart typography.

The documentation for MultiMarkdown’s command line arguments has this to say:

multimarkdown --nosmart

Disable smart quotes (e.g. "foo" does not become “foo”).