Scrivener in the world of consulting...

Hi Keith, David et al…

I have been trying out Scrivener and with 6 days remaining, thought I’d buy it and also give you some feedback.

First some contextual information:
• I am a MacUser since 1984 :wink:
• Developed design documents for Mac applications for use by an accounting/consulting firm I worked for way back…
• Now have my own gig and have stayed sanely on the Mac (even though the business world has largely gone WinDOS)
• Now as a strategy consultant, I work with a range of clients with revenues of up to $500m.

My needs (and why I use Scrivener):
• Research information in the form of client documents (Word & Excel saved as PDFs) and sources on the internet (mainly PDFs again)
• Survey executives in readiness for workshops (more Word & Excel documents saved as PDFs)
• Initiate, monitor & review specific areas of research conducted by these executives (even more Word & Excel documents saved as PDFs)
• Review everything that I have captured and develop trends, comments, areas for further research, recommendations etc
• Develop reports (still trying to wean myself off Word and onto Pages)
• Develop presentations (I just love Keynote – kicks the pants off Powerpoint!)
• Provide documents to clients as PDFs (so they cannot be changed) or by special agreement, Word and Excel.

In my current assignment, the 15 executives attending the Blue Sky Workshop developed (as part of the pre-workshop research I set them) the following documents:
• 4 documents on Market Analysis (one for each business unit)
• 6 documents on Financial Analysis
• 7 documents on Market & Industry Trends
• 11 documents on Competitive Positioning
• 12 documents on their Product Portfolio
• 121 documents on Competitor Analysis
That makes a total of 161 documents (each on average 8 pages in length) that I had to get into and understand thoroughly before I could even put a slide up on screen in the two-day Blue Sky Workshop I facilitated.