Scrivener/MMD/Latex

I’ve been using Scrivener for a few months now. I’m just beginning to learn about TeX/LaTeX/BibDesk/LyX – really just starting. I assumed that the way to go would be to import RTF formatted Scrivener documents into LyX. That seems not to be so straightforward or simple as I assumed.

It occurred to me that Scrivener might be able to export or compile to LaTeX. A couple of searches made me aware of MMD and the possibility of compiling MMD-coded documents to LaTeX. I’d just like to confirm that that is the case.

There are some things regarding this possibility that I am confused about: I gather MMD is already present somewhere/somehow in Scrivener, yet I also came across an exhange which seemed to indicate that, at least for some purposes, it may be necessary to have another separate installation of MMD. Second, from what I’m able to discern from my very brief and recent exploration – within the last hour – MMD coding seems to be simple and intuitive. Does it handle footnotes [or endnotes] and bibliography?

I could probably get the answers to these questions by continuing to search and read in the forums. I hope you won’t take offense at my asking again questions that have probably already been answered numerous times over in the forums.

Thanks,

Eric,

Nice to see you’re still getting on well with Scrivener!

Correct. The main problem in going between RTF and LaTeX is that they are both quite different, philosophically speaking. This is even more true for a system based on Cocoa RTF, which lacks internal stylesheets and simply encodes everything as font and paragraph modifications, whereas LaTeX is (ideally) purely semantic. You specify that a line is a “chapter”, not that it is 24pt bold, but that is all the RTF specifies. Since there is no standard for what a chapter title should be styled like, that makes writing a converter difficult.