Scrivener "Services" in Safari are missing

Hi! I’m a complete newbie. New to Scrivener. New to Mac, so please excuse any stupid questions.

I bought my first MacBook Pro about a week ago. I’ve been hearing from friends of the wonders of Scrivener for a couple of years, so I downloaded the trial version.

I’ve successfully imported my current novel and am very pleased with the results. However, now I want to add some web pictures and info to my research file. I watched the tutorial on the site and was dismayed to see that I don’t seem to have the clipping services mentioned.

I went into Safari > Services > Preferences and clicked the boxes related to Scrivener. Nothing happened. I turned my Mac off and restarted. Nothing happened. What am I missing?

Okay…weirder still. I just clicked Safari > Services to check my information, and the links are there! But when I minimized this window and went to the window that contains the picture I want to clip, no Scrivener services appear headdesk

Again…what am I missing?

Thanks for your assistance.

First thing to note, Snow Leopard Services appear on a contextual basis. If a service does not apply to the current context then it will not appear at all. This is a departure from the old system, where every single available service was always visible, but oftentimes grayed out because it didn’t apply. Context is defined by two factors: The application providing the service understands the application that is active; the application that is active is providing content that the service application understands. The latter one can be tricky because in some cases having nothing selected is considered a valid coupling. Some applications can send whole chunks of data to other applications. However in most cases, some sort of selection needs to be made in the active application.