Scrivner Reference Manager debacle

Hey folks,

This is going here as a warning. To start with I am a developer with 20 years of experience. I say that not to boast, but to warn. I’m hacky. My tolerance for half working freeware is higher than most. I’m also an academic in CS.

Here’s the deal. It’s a lie you can get Zotero and Scrivner to generate a bibliography reliably on Windows. If you just need inline citations, the rtf/odt scan plugin method will work ok. I figured out a super convoluted hack a few months ago, and now it doesn’t work at all.

Here be dragons. If you’re publishing for IEEE, just don’t. If you manage to prove me wrong and make a video that works on windows consistently by going through something like Libra Office, I am sure others will be thankful.

I have wasted about 40 hours of my life on this because I love this application. L&L seem unwilling to support a reference manager internally. Clearly, folks like us - aka STEM academics, are not their focus.

What can you do? I say this without any irony and know my brand loyalty here is Linux and PC. Use a Mac. On a Mac, Bookeneds will generate a bibliography in IEEE format. You will not even need the reference documentation to work out how if you’ve tried the above process before. It’s obvious and painless.

I could cry. So much time wasted. This is fine. I get a Mac from work so I’ll just use it to finish up PhD and for papers if I use Scrivener again.

Let this be a warning and a request in one. Literature & Latte, know we exist. Just like humanities nerds, we love your tool. Please spend some free minutes thinking about how you could make this work or formally recommend a way it could work for Windows and Linux so we can sanely publish in IEEE and ACM format without losing our minds or giving in and switching platforms.

Windows folks in STEM, run screaming back to Word or Overleaf. This is a nightmare.

Thanks in advance,
Phoenix