Second Paragraph for Bullet / Increase Indent Doesn't Seem to Compile to Word from Scrivener for Windows (3.0)

Hello,

Pardon me if this has been asked. I haven’t been able to find a solution by searching.

Frequently, when I create a bulleted list, I want a second paragraph for a bullet to be indented at the same level, like this:

• Bullet’s first paragraph
    Second paragraph
  • Another bullet

I’ve tried to do this with Increase Indent () but that only produces a first-line indent when I compile to Word.

What is the proper way to do this?

Thank You,
Michael

Frequently

Scrivener Version: 3.0.1.0 (1274136) 64-bit - 28 Apr 2021
Project Format: Non-Fiction Manuscript
Microsoft® Word 2019 MSO (Version 2110 Build 16.0.14527.20270) 64-bit

I’m not a word processing expert, but to the best of my knowledge there isn’t a really good way of adding additional paragraphs to a single bullet point. The best technique I’ve seen, that preserve the integrity of the list, is the result that is produced by Pandoc’s DOCX generator, when requested to do so. It sets the secondary paragraph’s bullet style to a space character, thus rendering the marker invisible. Semantically that approach doesn’t feel like a good one to me—it’s then more list items, not one list item with multiple paragraphs—but that seems to be how word processing approaches that (and many other) problems: just make it look right at whatever cost.

That said, Scrivener has no such facility on its own, lists can only have one marker type, and in the Windows version you can’t even set custom markers. So I guess you could follow that same principle though, where if we are going to abandon logical formatting and just try to make it look right:

1. Pretend its a list instead of actually making a list. Create a paragraph ruler style with some tab stops and line indenting then type in the bullets by hand (consider creating a substitution to insert the bullet markers more easily).