Small Caps

I’m a law student, and I’d love to start using Scrivener for some of my larger legal writing projects. There is one thing that might hold me back, however, and that’s the ability to use small caps. I have to comply with the Bluebook (http://www.legalbluebook.com/) system of citation, which means I need the ability to use small caps in footnotes in my writing. Is there a way to use small caps in Scrivener? If so, will they survive export to Word?

Any help that you could offer would be much appreciated. I’d love to get to work with this app!

bump

I don’t have an answer for you, but surely someone does.

Yeah, I was hoping somebody would grab this because my answer would be to examine the behaviour of the other font variants in the OS X text engine, and I don’t know if that is the right thing to look at.

Ruminations to myself aside, I would be inclined to say that “Small caps” fall under the domain of font variants. OS X is pretty strict about only applying variants where there is full font support for it. A common example that many come across is the popular default Lucida Grande not shipping with an italic variant. This causes many people to think that something is broken with italics in X application, when in fact it is simply due to Apple not providing an italic variant for the font. Since there is no variant, you cannot make italic text in any OS X engine based application using that font.

I would imagine that small caps are a similar problem. The font would need to have a proper small cap implementation installed on the system. I could be, however, completely wrong about this. It might be that small caps are never a font variant and this is purely a function of the word processor. Either way, Scrivener is going to be a bit tied down by the fact that the underlying OS X text engine doesn’t support it.