Steve Jobs Dead at 56

The world lost a brilliant innovator. You have some big shoes to fill KB.

http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/10/06/us-apple-jobs-idUSTRE79472K20111006

Hyperbole though it may be, that about says it.

iSad. iGrieve. iCrying.

A very great loss. I’ve been using Macs for twenty years, and wrote my first book on one. Wouldn’t want to use anything else. He leaves a remarkable legacy. It’s not often that technology is married to visual elegance, classical purity, even.

Martin.

A very sad day. Apple won’t be the same without his driving vision, and the saddest thing is that he should have been around for another 20 or 30 years to see where all his innovations lead (and to continue innovating).

Yet another addition to the pantheon of giants, upon whose shoulders you lesser mortals can aspire to stand.
Some would argue that the status of giant, has been attained with the help and talent of many, ‘lesser mortals’. True or no, Apple under his leadership have noticeably, raised the bar for both innovators and imitators alike. Twill be interesting to see if they continue to do so.

Sincere condolences to Steve’s family and friends.
Fluff

I’m one of those that found out on an Apple device…

I had one chance to meet Steve Jobs, on a visit to NeXT in the early 90s, but he failed to show that day.

On another occasion he was the showman, giving a first demo of a scanner, which sent the crowd wild.

And finally, he gave a talk that I attended: first a slide show, and then a Q & A with the crowd. He was looking to encourage students to apply for jobs at Apple. One remark he made stuck with me:

“I am looking for people who have not only ideas, but the ability to manufacture them. If you don’t have a passion for building your ideas, we will never get along.”