Subheadings in your Table of Contents

Hello,

I am on a trial period with Scrivener. My primary goal is to create eBooks. I am not new to creating eBooks, but I am new to using this software.

At the moment, I don’t necessarily need all the bells and whistles that come with it. I just need something that will look the same on Kindle’s as it looks on my screen. In other words, I’m hoping to avoid formatting issues.

I haven’t been able to fully grasp using links for creating a table of contents yet.

I’ve gone through several websites and the tutorials, and I am still having trouble. This is specifically for Amazon’s .mobi format.

Let me lay out the example of what I am trying to accomplish here.

======================================

Table of Contents

Chapter 1
-----Subheading 1
-----Subheading 2

Chapter 1
Welcome to this page. Blah blah blah.

Subheading 1
More text here.

Subheading 2
Hello world.

I understand using “Copy Documents as Scrivener Links.” Each separate file is its own link. I think I’m okay with this.

Where I am having trouble is setting up a link to a subheading within the same page (chapter 1, for example). When someone clicks on “Subheading 1” in the table of contents on their Kindle, it should direct them to Subheading 1, with the necessary text before and after.

I appreciate any advice that comes my way. Thank you.

What you’re after isn’t currently possible in Scrivener, as the table of contents is automatically generated during e-book creation and thus can’t be formatted the way you’re after. Items are added to the automatic TOC based on the page break setting, so only items following a page break (section break, in ebook terms) will appear in the list. If I read correctly, your subheadings are part of the same section as the chapter heading, so they won’t be listed.