Undo?

I’ve searched everywhere and tried the cmd Y in case it may work like Word (it doesn’t), so how does one ‘undo’ in Mac Scrivener?
Also, Redo?

TIA

Hello.

CMD Z, not Y, for undo.

CMD SHIFT Z for redo.

Slàinte mhòr.

Note also that if you can find a command in the menus (Edit -> Undo, in this case), the shortcut if there is one will be shown there.

Katherine

Thank you! CMD Z works and I swear, I tried it 34 times before asking here!

Katherine,
Obviously, I am new to this software (loving it so far, but some things are not easy here) and I’m not sure what you mean when you say, “If you can find a command in the menus…” Where would I look for such a critter? Again, thank you!

If there is a shortcut for a command, the shortcut is shown next to the command.
If you click on Edit in the menu, you have Undo at the top with its shortcut.

OMG, Lunk, this is brilliant!
Me, notsomuch, but this?This is! Thank you!

Another problem I’m having is when I import from MS Word or Pages, I can not change the formatting within. Like, there is paragraph I imported as double spaced. I want to make it single spaced now. Nope, can’t be done. What am I missing, please, if you know?

I’m sorry to be so dense, but there ya have it. Me, today. I blame the snow.

When importing or copy/paste text from elsewhere, it is common for formatting to need changing to your preference in S. Often I copy/paste stuff that arrives in the form of a table.

The solution is to clear the import format style and start over. On the menu Format, there are several options, You can create the format you want then make that the default format for all new entries.

Or you could create a style via the Format menu. Or via the drop-down menu (choose Style (which might say No style) either select one of the default styles or create your own.

(S help manual will tell you how. Worth reading from start to finish.)