Using and sorting index cards by label

Greetings! I’m still new to Scrivener and sitting on the fence about importing my whole novel draft (been working on it for several years now, it’s all in dozens and dozens of different Word docs under various folders … ugh, what a mess! Wish I’d started the whole thing in Scriv). But I’d like to get to know the program better before entrusting it with my scattershot baby.

I decided I’d test the waters by hand-importing my “bits and pieces” (which range in length from a single phrase or sentence to entire pages of dialogue) from the Word table where I’d been keeping them (again, what a mess) to index cards in a unique folder (I’m using the Novel template). I called the folder Bits and Pieces, situated above “Draft” and all its sub-folders. As it turns out, I had 95 bits and pieces! So yes, 95 index cards sitting there.

I’ve got several questions about where to go from here, but I’ll start with:

1. Is there a way to sort the index cards by label, so that all the cards with a certain label (I customized mine by character and subject) automatically group together? The “sort” subjects under Help all have to do with index cards that have documents attached to them. These don’t, they’re just standalone index cards on the cork board.

2. Is it OK to have standalone index cards on the cork board, without docs attached to them? Am I the only one who’s ever used them for that? :laughing: I mean, could they be in some sort of danger?!!

Thanks in advance … the solitary creative process will do interesting things to your mind after awhile … :wink:

Welcome to Scrivener!