[v1.x] Can you open documents in a new window?

Hello everyone, Scrivener newbie here. I work across two screens so I was wondering if it’s possible to open a document in a new window so I can have it open on a separate screen?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Rachel

I don’t think that’s possible in the current version of the Windows program. It may be coming in v. 3, now in beta, but I don’t know that. It is possible to have two projects open at the same time, so theoretically it might be possible to open the project once on one screen and once on the other–but that would be a bad idea, since even if Scrivener let you do it, you could end up making conflicting changes.

Two possible workarounds: (1) Create a second project just for working versions of documents. You can drag documents between projects (they are copied rather than moved), and so in effect you could take a document from your main project window and edit it in the “working” project window on the other screen, then drag it back when it’s ready. You’d then have to delete the original document from the main project window. (2) Scrivener has a scratch pad feature (Tools > Scratch Pad) that is a separate popup editor. Its formatting capabilities are limited; in particular, you can’t create Scrivener links in it (I presume because the Scratch Pad is not connected to a specific Scrivener project, but is a “global” tool), and can’t create hyperlinks generally, though you can paste them in from elsewhere. You can’t drag Scrivener documents into it, but you could certainly copy and paste text there to work on; and then it does have the ability to send text into Scrivener.

Sorry that’s mostly negative!