Viewing / copying out of Pages.app files

I’m new to Scrivener; I’m trying it out for poetry collection, organization, and editing. I have a vast collection of poems in Pages documents currently. I know this isn’t a fully supported import format, but Scrivener was able to import them as documents within folders in the binder. It can display them, too, but not edit them—understandable. However, it doesn’t even seem to be able to select the text to copy it—I have to open the document in the external editor (Pages), and copy from there to paste into a new Scrivener text.

Is there any way of copying text from a Pages document that’s imported into a Scrivener binder? It’s clearly rendering the Pages document text in the application—it just isn’t letting me select it for some reason.

Not expecting a full import, it’d just be nice if I didn’t have to re-open Pages every time I wanted to copy the text into a formattable/usable Text, as that kind of defeats the point of initially importing the Pages documents.

(I know there is an option to export the Pages documents to Word or rtf documents to then import, but that’s even more of a slog.)

Anyway, just wondering what’s possible here. Thanks so much!

Given that Pages is proprietary to Apple who haven’t/won’t release any details of the file format to developers, Pages documents cannot be imported or opened by any other (third-party) app. So your choice is export to docx or rtf and import that, or use copy and paste into a Scrivener file.

Sorry; fact of life until Apple change their mind, if they ever do.

:slight_smile:

Mark

PS What you are seeing when you import them into the research area of the binder is a “quick look” view, equivalent of selecting the doc in the Finder and tapping the spacebar.