Webpage import fails every time

I’ve tried multiple web pages, including “easy” ones like wikipedia. If I choose PDF doc I get
“The web page could not be imported” and
“Scrivener appears to be having trouble downloading the entire contents of this web page.”

If I choose Plain Text a progress bar starts then I get the above “trouble downloading” message.

If I choose web page complete I get
“Could not retrieve content at address”
The above “trouble downloading” message.

Frustrating.

1 Like

Your browser should have a “Save Page As” option to save a page to a local file. Do that, then try to import the result. That will help us determine whether this is a Scrivener issue with the web page, or a downloading issue related to your internet connection.

OK. Saved as xxxx.html, then imported into Scrivener just fine using Files…

These pages also can import into Evernote and OneNote. I’m a software engineer and it sure looks to me like a Scrivener issue.

Thanks.

1 Like

Also just discovered, in case is sheds light, the page I imported using Files is totally uneditable. Can’t type on it, can’t select on it, can’t select all using Ctrl-A. I can select all by scrolling but then I can’t delete it or anything.

Can you edit it with a non-Scrivener tool?

Interesting I imported this page as web file and this page from the daily beast with pictures
s://www.thedailybeast.com/nasas-james-webb-telescope-spots-a-star-shedding-its-skin-before-supernova?ref=home
, but not a wikipedia page
It may be a script issue on the page and assuming he is importing into the research section of the project.
Windows 11 pro with latest software version.
could not edit the page but could copy and paste print from it into another scrivener file and copy images from the file I imported.