what does mac os /Library folder store?

I am a new to mac osx. One thing confusing me is what does /Library or /System/Library folders store? As its name meaning, I thought is should be something like /lib or /usr/lib in Linux. However, it does not. Inside it, it looks more similar to application bundles. And all naming is very application-specific, like /Library/iChat. If they are application-specific, then why they are called Library? Usually when named as Library, it is for codes or resources sharing purpose.

See—The Library Directory Stores App-Specific Files…—here:
developer.apple.com/library/arc … 72-CH2-SW1

(I’m not a developer. I was curious about the subject when I started using OS X/macOS. A mod will likely move this thread to the appropriate location.)

Part of the mystery is solved by knowing that a Mac is really a BSD UNIX, and so it also has /lib, /usr and /etc. So a direct comparison to these directories is not possible. In addition to the plethora of open source stuff that is pre-installed (Apache, Ruby, etc.), anything from the *NIX world you install yourself will most likely use these folders as well.[size=80][1][/size]

You won’t find them in Finder, Apple deems them to be hidden files, but you can get to them in Finder via the Go ▸ Go to Folder… command. I prefer just using the shell if I need to work in those areas though. If you’re used to Linux, it’s worthwhile doing an ls ▸ to check out familiar areas, like /var and /tmp. Ultimately you will find macOS is not so plain-text configuration file friendly, which is a shame, but chances are if you know how to do a thing with /etc, it might work on a Mac.