What is the best way to save and back up with Scrivener?

Hi,

I’m new to Scrivener. I bought it to work on my first movie script but am now using it to organise and write a dissertation! It’s important that I don’t lose my work. As I understand it there isn’t a cloud save feature that is reliable, what there is is a local save and DropBox backup. I want to know the best practice for saving with this program.

I’ve had a read at L&L guide: https://www.literatureandlatte.com/blog/the-low-down-on-backing-up

Should I not have backups zip because of the risk of file corruption?

If I use the DropBox backup does this mean there will no longer be a local backup?

Is the best option to copy my Scrivener project after closing, manually to the cloud?

Also, I’d like to add that I am unable to move or copy any Scrivener files I make. I’m using the macOS Catalina beta. When I click once on my Scrivener project in the Finder menu it automatically opens the program. Is this a beta specific problem?

A piece of general advice:
What you are asking are fairly basic questions. If you don’t know the answers or quickly find them on the support pages it’s probably a bad idea for you to use a beta version of the OS for your normal work.

I haven’t seen any indication that zip compression is a problem. Have you?

Are you actually talking about backups, or syncronizing your main project file? Backups, as detailed in the link you provided, are copies of your project, created when triggered by Scrivener according to the backup settings shown in the article.