Which Macbook?

I’m buying my first Mac in a couple of weeks for school. All I’ve ever used is Windows laptops, and after having two of them die on me within two years I’ve decided to finally give this a try. It’s going to be mostly for college, and obviously for my writing. I’m majoring in Political Science, so it’s just a lot of paper writing. A LOT of paper writing. No intensive graphics programs or anything. The only video game I ever play is Sims. I know nothing about Mac computers, so I thought I’d ask here. I’m looking at either the 13 inch Macbook Pro i7 or the entry 15 inch macbook pro. I’m leaning towards the 13 inch, but if the 15 inch is that much better I’ll go for that. I just want this computer to LAST. Thanks!

I can’t really speak for the new 13" model because it is a brand new design that just came out. Generally speaking, it’s usually a good idea to give a model a year or so rather than buy into the bleeding edge. On that score I’d say the non-Retina 15" is going to be the most solid laptop computer you can buy from Apple right now. The MacBook Airs have been around for a bit too, but they are very slim and you might find them limited as your only computer. The 15" is a model that has been around for many years now. I’ve got one that I’ve had since 2008 and it still runs like a champ. The bonuses of that model is that it has a removable battery so you can replace it when it gets old, or on long trips. It also has an optical drive. None of the newer laptops have either of those, so for longevity something that you can open up and replace the hard drive, RAM and battery on is going to last you longer. They also have more I/O ports and a Kensington lock latch (useful in a computer lab). The Retina models have that gorgeous display, but they are otherwise not quite so deserving of the “Pro” tag, in my opinion.