Which notes app do you use and why?

Hello! I’ve been using Evernote for some years, but last year they doubled its price and since then they never stop fiddling with it, so you can never be quite sure if you’ll find the note you’re looking for quickly or whether the interface will have changed again and you’ll end up wasting time searching for it. Annual renewal is coming up and I’m starting to think of replacing it with something that’s easier to use. As I have an Office 365 subscription, I’ve tried MS OneNote but found it too complicated and over-engineered. Before this morning, I’d never heard of Nimbus , and that looks interesting, but having come across one product I’d known nothing about I thought it would be a good idea to find out what other Scrivener users use for note taking. My Evernotes contain mainly text with some PDFs and a few JPGs. Is there a notekeeping product you love almost as much as Scrivener, and what makes it so loveable?

Scrivener (macOS and iOS), DEVONthink Pro (macOS), and DEVONthink ToGo (iOS).

Some “notes” related to things to do go into … wait for it … “Things”.

Why? Keep it Simple.

Microsoft OneNote, because it can be used on all devices and keeps the notes in the cloud. It’s a pity they updated the UI, so it’s not that fast any more. :woozy_face:

If you already own Scrivener, I see no reason not to use Scrivener as a notes app. Or what’s stopping you? I use Scrivener for everything.

2 Likes

You don’t say if you’re on Mac or Windows. Obsidian is an app you might look into; it uses Markdown for editing, which might be something you need to take into account.

I’m on Mac and use Notebooks, though I’m not taking masses of notes which need linking.

:slight_smile:

Mark

1 Like

Thanks AntonIdol! It’s an option I tried some years back, but I found a purpose-build note app was more convenient. I’ll look into it again.

Thanks for the tips everybody!