Why the Android Version of Scrivener is Arguably the Most Important Version (and Why it's Number 1 on My Wish List)

This is a long post, so please bear with me.

I stumbled upon Scrivener around 8 years ago, when I was struggling to find software that I could easily organize my thoughts with and streamline my writing process. I was a loyal MacBook Pro user then, back when I was attending school for graphic design. I knew Apple’s computers to be the choice platform for creatives, and it made perfect sense that the best writing software had best realized itself on MacOS (then OS X). I dreamed one day Scrivener would make its way to mobile platforms, so I could work seamlessly on the go or at home.

As the years passed, my dreams of graphic design as a career faded, but I held firmly to the delusion that I needed a MacBook Pro for all the “intense” work I was doing. Meanwhile, the iOS version of Scrivener was announced, and it was everything I’d been hoping for…almost. I’ve always preferred Android phones, so the thought of switching to an iPhone just for one piece of software made me hesitant. I did make the jump to test the waters, and immediately regretted the decision, switching back not 6 months later.

At some point, I finally realized I had no need for a MacBook, Pro or otherwise. I wasn’t using Photoshop or Illustrator anymore, and everything I was doing was either capable of being accomplished in my browser or within an app. Apple’s hardware was and is very premium looking, but I could no longer justify spending $2000 for an internet machine.