Zotero integration please!!!

I want to state for the record that I REALLY like Scrivener - it’s totally changed the way I write, definitely for the better. But I just have to go on record - the fact that there’s not pluggin for Zotero is TOTALLY INSANE! You could completely replace Word for me if you wold just integrate this ONE feature. I know that software development is a difficult and time-consuming process, but I would happily pay $15 dollars more for this feature.

I know that a number of other people have developed workarounds for this, but I really don’t have the time to learn and implement these, and it just seems like Scrivener is closing itself off to a much greater market if it would implement this ONE crucial feature.

Please, for the love of god, integrate a zotero pluggin!!! :smiley:

2 Likes

yes, please add the zotero!!
I am a grad student, and I am using scr to write thesis. It a great tool to collect sources and write thesis. If scr can support zotero, it will be perfect!

2 Likes

You can already use Zotero with Scrivener. Scrivener projects aren’t a final format, so you scan and process your citations once you have compiled to RTF or ODT, using the Zotero tools. I don’t believe there are any Cocoa or Objective-C APIs available for Zotero that would make closer integration possible.

All the best,
Keith

I’ve found a workaround that fits the bill for me. It does require some post-processing, so it isn’t as nice as something like Bookends integration, but it does the job. (This is a Mac workflow.)

I use the Zotpick applescript to insert Better BibTex citations into Scrivener, then I use PanDoc to process it into a final manuscript. Basically I followed Dave’s instructions here: http://davepwsmith.github.io/academic-scrivener-howto/