Are there any grammarly-like features in Scrivener

I like Grammarly’s target audience and tone selections for the thesaurus, and a few other grammarly features as well, but grammarly isn’t compatable I hear with Scrivener. Does anyone know if Scrivener has grammarly-type features in terms of intended audience, tone, and other selections, and if so, how to use them?

No it doesn’t.

I have used Grammerly with Scrivener in the past using cut and paste a scene at a time. It’s a slight inconvenience but manageable.

Scrivener has basic features like grammar and spell check, but it doesn’t give comments for tone, etc. If you get the desktop version of Grammarly, you can export your Scrivener document and import to Grammarly in chunks (they do have caps on file size/length) or another app like Hemingway.

Is there an alternative to Grammarly Premium?
I’m not a professional, so spending $12/mo for Grammarly Premium is a bit of a stretch for me. I would rather spend that $12/mo on something more ‘enjoyable’ like Netflix.
I do have Grammarly Basic installed for Windows and the add-on for Firefox, but really would like to try the premium features.

Pro Writing Aid. It is expensive, but regularly advertises 50% discounts on their premium lifetime.

Grammarly Desktop (available for Mac and Windows) now integrates with Scrivener (and most other things).

Yes, I use that, however, one of the L&L team cautioned against anything that directly interacts with the scrivener document. Thus far I’ve found it okay, but from time to time it does have a glitch. Use with caution.

As with any of these, take their advice as recommendations only - both programs get it wrong often enough.

2 Likes

Perhaps it is worth the $12/mo to have Grammarly Premium. My vocabulary isn’t what I would like it to be but I have trouble finding the time or the interest to look up words in a thesaurus (I have been using thesaurus.com). Having Grammarly make suggestions for me could help in this respect.