Importing Notes into Scapple 1.4

I’m new to Scapple (on macOS 12.3.1); I love it! Extremely useful for what I want it to do. Thanks, L&L :slight_smile: .

But I can’t get import to work.

Specifically: I can’t get Scapple to break a multi-line TextEdit file into multiple Notes - even setting the delimiter to ‘\n’, ‘\r’ or either one ‘¶’ or two '¶¶'s (the default).

Scapple just groups the contents of the entire file into one Note.

If I paste the file’s contents into BBEdit (so that there is no styling) and drag that BBEdit file onto an empty Scapple window, all I get is a ‘URL’ to the file on my Desktop.

I know it can be done… have watched the video and read the relevant page [66, para 9.1.1] in the manual.

If someone has a minute kindly to explain what I might be doing wrong, I’d so appreciate it: would mean I didn’t have to go into the resulting single imported note and split it manually.

Thanks so much in advance!

I am unable to replicate the trouble you are having.

If you are only trying to make this work with the actual content you are trying to port over, you should try it with a test case – type a simple three line text directly into TextEdit or BBedit and save as plain text (.txt). Drop the resulting file onto the window of a fresh Scapple doc. Using simple carriage returns in the source doc, I get just what is expected in the resulting Scapple doc.

If that pans out differently than the result you are seeing with your content doc, then you know it has something to do with /it/. It’s line breaks may encoding line breaks in a different way than Scapple is expecting.

In BBedit you can snoop this out by showing inivisibles and look at the character code of the newline character on the Character Inspector palette.

That’s all I can think of that might be running interference.

In the interest of full disclosure, I am running an older macOS than you, so there is, I guess, that too.

gr