In Inspector, what does the Auto-generate button do?

For Scrivener 1.6.0.0 for Windows, although presumably my question isn’t operating system dependent.

If I view a Text entity in editor or Outline mode AND view Inspector, in the upper-right of Inspector is a button. Hovering on that button displays the pop-up text Auto-generate.

ScrivenerWindows0106AutoGenerateButton.png
What does that button do?

I clicked it, then rushed into my kitchen to enjoy the resulting cup of latte. But nothing had happened! More importantly, nothing appeared to have occurred within Scrivener, either.

I next searched for “Auto-generate” and “auto generate” in the Scrivener 1.5 for Microsoft Windows User Guide PDF, in this forum, and looked in the Index of Jennifer Kettell’s Scrivener Absolute Beginners Guide book. Nope, nothin’.

So I’m going to ask the question here.

Anyone have the answer?

Cheers & thanks,
Riley
SFO

P.S. Should the apparent absence of “auto-generate” be filed as a documentation bug?

Hi, sfosparky! You may be right, since it is not easy to find by searching for “Auto generate”, but it’s on page 148, second paragraph:

The button on the far right will automatically generate a synopsis based on the curent
text in the document. If text is selected in the editor, it will be used to fill in the
synopsis; otherwise, the first few lines will be used. When using image synopsis mode
subsection 12.1.2), this button will be replaced with an X which when clicked will erase
our graphic selection.

Hope this helps!

Yup, this button requires some content in the main text editor to do anything. As noted in the manual, it just takes the first bit of text, or what you have selected, and puts it into the Synopsis. It is a convenience feature and nothing more, if there is nothing to work with (as it looks like from the screenshot) then it won’t do anything.

Thanks AmberV and r6d2 — 'preciate it!
Riley
SFO