Opening multiple files in separate tabs

I am new to Scapple. I like it, but it has one rather puzzling feature. I’ve discovered how to create and work on multiple new documents, by adding tabs from the tab overview. However, each such document then gets saved into a different .scap file, and I cannot find a way of re-opening all of them into separate tabs. If I try to open multiple files, each one opens into a separate window, rather than into a separate tab within the same window.

How can I get my documents back into separate tabs in the same window?

I don’t ever use this feature of the Mac, so I’m not an expert at the various ways in which one can use it, but I think what you want requires a combination of:

• Disable Close windows when quitting an app in the System Preferences: General tab. As noted in the fine print here, if you turn that on then the Mac won’t restore windows when launching the program the next time, so you kind of need that in order to have a concept of stuff loading into tabs.
  • Close Scapple using ⌘Q at all times, with all of your stuff open, rather than closing windows manually with the red button in the top left corner.

Like I say, maybe there are other ways, but in short it would work just like any other Mac program that lets you put windows into tabs.

By the way, if you like this way of working, be sure not to upgrade past macOS 10.15 for a while. Apple broke tabs for this type of window back with macOS 11, and it hasn’t worked since.

Does this imply that, having quit the app and closed all windows when I first created these multiple .scap files, I can never get Scapple itself to reload them into multiple tabs? I would have expected that feature to be part of Scapple, rather than reliant on how Mac OS is enabled. After all, it created them as separate files in different tabs within the same window. Why let me do that, if it won’t then give me a way of reloading them into different tabs in the same window?