Text not aligning at the bottom of facing pages

Hi I’m a newbie to Scrivener and already perplexed!
I’ve copied and pasted a novel from Word for Mac to Scrivener. I can’t get the bottom of the text to align on facing pages.
This is driving me nuts. Any words of wisdom will be massively appreciated.
I’m not too good at tech lingo being an old boy, so it’s okay to talk to me like I’m a novice!
Mike

Why have you copied and pasted, rather than compiled?

What is the nature of the document? Does it contain headings etc.?

Tell us more, to help us help you.

:blush:

Mark

1 Like

Just a wild guess here - do you use widow/orphan control?

In plain words, widows and orphans are when page breaks leave a single line of a paragraph at the bottom or top of a page. You can set this not to happen. If so, the first line of the paragraph - which was alone on the bottom of a page would move to the next page with the rest of the paragraph.

Maybe this has some bearing?

That’s interesting. I haven’t used the widow and orphan control—I’m still trying to get my head around everything! I saw the option but I wasn’t sure how it would work with justified text?
Thanks for your response, I really appreciate it.

I’ve only copied from Word then pasted it chapter by chapter into Scrivener. Even in Word the text at the bottom of the page doesn’t align with the facing page.

Word also has widow/orphan control.

Also, the native format for Scrivener is rtf (rich text format). Meaning it understands this format best. Word normally saves to . docx (or older versions to doc).

• You can save your word docx to rtf. (The option will be under the dropdown menu “save as type…” Rename your doc with RTF (and a date/version) in the title so you don’t mix them up.
  • Then you can import the RTF version (it just plays better with Scrivener)

Re: copy/ paste- In the future, try importing the RTF instead -it’s a lot easier/accurate plus-