the best way to use key words

What is the best way to use key words to help organize a big document with a lot of research files on different–but interrelated–topics?

In another thread, AmberV talked about how key words substituted for some of the things she had previously done in Tinderbox, but I didn’t understand what she was describing.

I’m fairly new to keywording, but do a lot of photography and I have started using it in Aperture to tag photos.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned is that you should tag in whatever way is most meanful to you.
The best thing I did to my Aperture tags is delete the suggested, default tags. I can see how many of them would be extremely useful, especially in a collaborative setting, however, for my needs, it was much better to have much less of them and that those I did have were right for me.

I think the way I should have worded this is to ask how other people use key words.

I began my book by adding keywords to each research document, wily nilly. I put a keyword for topic or idea I thought I might want to reference later. The result is that when I do a search now, I get such a hodgepodge of results that it’s not all that helpful.

I can certainly go back and start over with keywords–I imagine I’ll have to if I want them to be useful. But before I do anything at all, I’d like to know what others have done that has worked for them.

I agree with you Sebbi. It’s important to be selective with what you use–which I wasn’t at the beginning of this–and only use keywords that mean something to you. My problem is that I began assigning keywords before I knew where I was going and now they don’t help.

rebecca