User-friendly consistency

It’s funny to me when I read others talking about Scrivener’s consistency when that is my chief complaint AGAINST Scrivener. Things that seem to work fine once…then never work again. Things that seem supremely logical to me can’t be done in Scrivener, or can’t be done on a consistent basis.

Yes, Scrivener has a laundry list of features - now if only they worked (or were even understandable). And I used to be a programmer! I have, however, left that career far behind me, and all I want to do these days is write complex sci-fi and fantasy, I don’t want do do what I’ve had to do these last months with Scrivener, try and learn a bunch of systems just to get my thoughts on a page. By and large it doesn’t even many good, user-friendly tutorials.

To give specific examples, I wanted to set up my working screen to have three different panels: Left panel for writing, right-panel top or bottom for Scrivenings and the other for corkboard. That way I could keep track of plot lines and how the whole manuscript flows. After a long, frustrating amount of research, this just does not seem to be possible. In fact, most ways that I set up the panels for work for a while and then stop. I can’t even get Scrivenings to show up on a consistent basis even if it’s the only thing on the right side!

Secondly trying to keep track of all the information in a ~900 page document is a case point in frustration in Scrivener. Yes, I can apply a keyword to a file/scene. But L&L’s help files state under ‘Using Keywords to Manage your Scrivener projects’ that:

’ ###Finding documents with keywords