Installing Scrivener 3.1.1 on Linux (Wine 7.0) without problems

I have just managed to install 64 bit Scrivener 3.1.1 on Ubuntu 20.4 using Wine 7.0. It needed not fixes or adjustments and appears to run without problems. I am sharing this for two reasons:

1. I hope this experience could be useful to others wishing to run the latest version of Scrivener on a linux installation. Below are the steps that I followed for the installation.
  2. I would appreciate feedback on any potential problems. I should mention that I have no experience of Wine. I did my first installation yesterday following various blogs and using my judgement. I am in the process of learning Scrivener (I use it on a Mac). I have not experienced any of the problems that people have mentioned in the forum, but it might be that I have not worked enough with Scrivener. So far I have been able to open, close, edit and compile documents and I also have no problems with accents (dead keys).

Installation steps (for Wine and then Scrivener)

Following the steps on the Ubuntu - WineHQ Wiki page in a terminal window using Ubuntu 20.04

1. Enable 32 bit architecture (I don’t know if this is necessary but I did it anyway):

sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386

2. Download and add the repository key

wget -nc https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/winehq.key
    sudo apt-key add winehq.key

3. Add the repository and update: Install Wine

sudo add-apt-repository 'deb https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/ubuntu/ focal main'
    sudo apt update

4. Install Wine 7.0 with:

sudo apt install --install-recommends winehq-stable

5. Intall Winetricks

sudo apt-get install winetricks

The version that I installed was 20200412

6. Install dotnet462 (from a suggestion in a post by AmberV)

winetricks dotnet462

This gives the following message:

This package (dotnet462) may not fully work on a 64-bit installation. 32-bit prefixes may work better.

(As far as I can see there were no problems despite the lack of a 32-bit prefix)