Italics lost in compile

I’ve recently updated to V3 for Windows. Imported my manuscript, but none of my styles or compile formats.
I tried a basic compile to word doc, but it removed all the italics in my document. I can’t find anywhere to tell it to keep all the italics. Help please.

Hello @VeronicaS! Welcome to the forum.

I am no expert on the Scrivener Compiler, but just understand the basics. Some of the formats ignore all formatting information in your manuscript, italics, bold, indents, etc. To help you diagnose what’s going on with your italics, please tell us which format you are compiling for and how you assigned your section types to the section layouts of this format.

1 Like

Thank you for responding and sorry for my delayed reply. I was trying both an imported format from an earlier version and a manuscript format. I discovered the sections layout had all defaulted to ‘none’ so I’ve tried a few of these, and eventually was able to save all the italics. Still doesn’t take all my styles, but I’m working on it :grin:

Having the same problem. I have tried numerous options (including “as is” and “formatting will be based on how text appears in the editor”), but my resulting Word document has no bold/italics and has ignored most of the styles I created and used in Scrivener.

Any idea why?

After hours of detective work on videos and manuals, I discovered that you shouldn’t put styles in the main text of your manuscript. Like you, I had used several different styles and none were showing in compile.
Once I changed the style to ‘no style’ the compile picked up all the italics and bold that I had used,
This was very time consuming as I had 35 chapters and 160K words to revert. But it’s done now.
I also needed to make them all ‘chapters’ and they picked up the headings too.
Good luck.

Perhaps my comment was unclear: I need to italicise some words (e.g. book titles), and that’s what disappearning.